That Crushing Feeling, and Tangled Webs

Hey, does anyone know if the FBI has permission to reproduce the EliteTorrents.org logo? Oh well, it’s probably another hoax anyway.

I’m having a hard time untangling this web, though: the elitetorrents.org page is now a frameset that points to an IP (192.31.21.68) owned by the San Diego Supercomputer Center. It looks like they’ve set a reverse pointer on this IP which makes it resolve to the Department of Homeland Security website, which is the technological equivalent of a fake ID.

SDSC is running Apache/2.0.52 Unix PHP/4.3.10 on Solaris 9. The frameset site is running Apache/2.0.46 (Red Hat). DHS has some Akamai voodoo going on. As late as two weeks ago, ET were running Apache/1.3.33 Unix PHP/4.3.10 on some flavor of Linux. At that time, the domain pointed to an IP (83.149.101.146) under the control of LeaseWeb, a web host and DSL provider in the Netherlands. (That would explain the ICE connection.)

So, the ET site is pointing to a server at a government-funded research facility. That’s the only thing that’s really clear at this point. Does anyone have any more concrete information?

One Comments

  1. dave says:

    all i know peer guardian dont like it and auto blocks it…why its still tryin to access me tho since aint looked at et in weeks beyond me,but happy PG blockin it all same

Leave a Comment

HTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>